Lauraonlibraries’s Weblog



Classics and Cornbread

Yesterday, I volunteered to help my friend, who is a first-year Latin teacher, chaperone her thirty-four high school students at OU Classics Day. This is a program sponsored annually by the OU Classics and Letters Department in which young classicists come to Norman to hear speakers, learn Greek dancing, and make Roman jewelry. They also get to hang out on campus and pretend they’re big kids. I think that’s the part they like best. It was really fun, and reminded me of the fun I had learning about Classical culture during my undergraduate studies in OU’s Letters department. I got to see all of my old professors, and my favorite one of all had grown a mustache. The mustache alone made my Thanksgiving break. The whole experience got me thinking about doing some graduate studies in Classics, which I do from time to time. It’s just a negative reaction to the travails of library school, I probably won’t do it, as I have solemnly sworn to attend no more school after the completion of my MLS. But I did find some really neat resources sponsored by The Classical Journal to help prospective classicists get started in their studies.

This page links to all of the American universities offering graduate programs in Classics. I always thought it would be neat to go to Tulane, but the real place to go if you’re a smartypants is Cincinnati.

There’s also information about upcoming graduate student conferences and opportunities to submit papers.

This is a helpful resource for doing scholarly research. The Classical Journal has digitized many of its scholarly articles. Some still must be accessed through the subscription database JSTOR, but there are a lot of PDF versions of articles on a range of topics from Latin pedagogy to literature that are available to everyone. The Diadochoi Project is a “wiki-style” resource which profiles professors in the field. There are over 5,000 entries, and the neat thing about it is that each one links to their published work in some way. This is good if you want to cite your teacher for the proverbial brownie points. This is their listing of OU professors, and fond we are of all of them.

I have to go make cornbread for stuffing now.

Leave a Reply

