Lauraonlibraries’s Weblog



With Limited Success

Even though it seems like I have been on leave from blogging for the past week, that isn’t really the case. I have been trying to dig up something, anything on censorship and/or challenges of digital collections. I haven’t had any luck at all, and I am just going to attribute it to my own bad research skills. However, I did go ask at a certain reference desk and was accused by its attendant of simply “Googling.” This caused me to flounce out of the library, jump on my bicycle, and speed home to stew, because I had actually been trying.  There is plenty out there about repressive governments who censor the Web in its entirety. This initiative by Amnesty International to examine types of information filtered from search engines offers good information about this issue. Public libraries filter the Internet access of children. However, I am interested in challenges of digital collections supported by any type of library. Does it happen the same way it happens to a physical information package? Who would the censor complain to, exactly? Obviously ALA\’s Freedom to Read Statement includes digital information packages. Maybe it’s never happened, but I doubt it. I’m still pretty interested, so I’m going to keep looking.

Until then, read this terribly depressing post from American Thinker. Randall Hoven starts out well enough, until he quotes “part of the job description of a librarian” and then asks “Couldn’t anyone do that? What special expertise is required to go through journals and select?” It makes me want to stamp my little foot and scream. People just don’t get it. And Hoven actually gets worse toward the end, read the rest of the post, but beware it’s a little nutty.

I’ll be back later.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * librarychick08 says:

    I read the post and it made me mad too. Mr. Hoven is probably one of those people who asks library students “You have to have a master’s degree for that?” which always makes me mad. I don’t think he understands a thing about our field. Thanks for posting the link!

    – Claire

    | Reply Posted 9 years ago
  2. * goff1237 says:

    I too am wondering if there has been challenges to digital collections. The International Children’s Digital Library has some content that seems offensive for certain age groups or populations.

    The issue of copyright might be more prominant. It is so easy to add a link to other digital collections without thinking about ownership. The Library of Congress has several digital collections and they use Open Archives Initiative and have links that are for the most part free of copyright. However, they still have a link for copyright and legal notices for anyone who wishes to use a link for a digital collection or any other reproduction. Thanks for posting this blog and I know your research will produce something soon!

    | Reply Posted 9 years ago


Leave a Reply

